top of page


Due to Construction of a new Research & Education Center and a LeMoyne House Window Preservation Project we are currently open by Appointment Only

Call 724-225-6740 or email to make an appointment for a tour.

The LeMoyne House is Pennsylvania’s first national Historic Landmark of the Underground Railroad. Only a few other such sites exist in the entire United States. The house, located at 49 East Maiden Street in downtown Washington, was built in 1812 by John Julius LeMoyne, the father of Francis Julius LeMoyne. Both father and son were practicing physicians, but it was the courageous Francis Julius LeMoyne who, despite the strict Fugitive Slave Law of 1850, risked his personal freedom and fortune to do what he knew was morally right – take a stand against the institution of slavery. This successful doctor, reformer and builder of the first crematory in the western hemisphere, opened his home and properties as stops along the Underground Railroad. The father of five daughters and three sons, he also believed in and promoted education for women. The LeMoyne House is now a museum filled with period artifacts and dedicated to Dr. LeMoyne’s memory. Washington has a unique historic treasure in the LeMoyne House. Why not come and visit this national landmark and learn about the fascinating man who risked everything by allowing his stately stone house to be a stop on the Underground Railroad? Walk-in tours are also welcome and special group tour discounts are available. Saturday tours are available for groups of 20 or more.  For more information or for directions, call 724-225-6740, e-mail us:, or send a request using the form below.

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page